Each Transaction Entry Function includes support for both On-Line and Batch Update Modes. The system manager selects the Update Mode for each Transaction Entry Function and any combination of On-Line and Batch Modes is permitted.
In On-Line Mode, all Transactions are posted as entered. If an entry mistake is made and the transaction “batch” is still open, the operator may recall the transaction and make whatever changes are necessary. The original entry is automatically reversed and the corrected entry posted. When the transaction “batch” is closed, the transaction journal is printed and the transaction entry data is deleted.
With Batch Mode, all processing occurs when the “batch” is closed. With the closing of the “batch”, all transactions are posted, the transaction journal is printed, and the transaction entry data is deleted.